Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
OK, well here goes. In the play stated this happened on Saturday. There was no illegal sub being made so we had no dead-ball foul. The R coach decided he wanted to swap out about 3 or 4 guys with time running out on the play clock and the mass substitution looked like a fire drill. The LJ, HL, and BJ were trying to count B players while they were running on and off the field. When the play went off we had ~13 players on the field and still out in the middle of the field (in other words, they weren't anywhere near the sideline but moving in that direction).
The wings and BJ had rags for live-ball illegal participation. Team K punted the ball where I had a "chop-in." I still stayed with that mechanic even though I was certain an IP was called (and I think I should have any way). We spotted the ball, then I gave penalty options to K. Of course K accepted. We awarded K the ball 15 yards in advance of the previous spot. I started the clock with the snap because it was the start of a new series following a legal scrimmage kick.
[Edited by ljudge on Nov 7th, 2005 at 10:52 PM]
|
Your clock status was correct if you called IP, as rule 4-3-c states "The clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because: c. Either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick."
Now even though the B players were in the middle of the field, if they were trying to get off but were not not at the snap, you could argue IS instead of IP. I have no problem with the IP since they were in the middle, but since if they were running to get off, and never got involved in the play, you could go with IS. I have no problem with either, but on my crew we have stated that we will go with IS if they are running to get off if they never participate. Now if they stop and even look at the play it would be IP for sure.