Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
Status of the clock before the snap is not relevant.
NF: Start the clock on the SNAP because per rule, either team was awarded a new series following a legal kick.
NCAA: Start it on the snap no matter what.
Definitely not a PSK foul as the foul as pointed out was a foul at the snap. This one might have been a good one to shut down unless players 12 and 13 were actually leaving the field at the snap.
|
The status of the clock pre-snap has no effect on when to start the clock. The clock was stopped not by the penalty but by the awarding of a new series following a legal kick. Therefore, start on the snap regardless of accept or decline.
Cannot remember exactly what NFHS publication I read but we are suppose to kill the play before it starts, if, you complete your count before the snap. The foul would be incomplete substitution. However, if you cannot complete your count it becomes a live ball foul for illegal participation.
On live ball foul: accept, 15-yards from the previous spot with possession retained by K. Decline. Result of the play.
Dead ball foul: Five yards from succeeding spot.