View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 07:49pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey
Guys,

I want to make sure that you are saying that the error is for not signaling? And, only for not signaling? I would think that the error would be for not counting the score. Everybody in the gym knows, including the official, that it was a 3. For example, the scorekeeper puts up the score even though no signal was made by the official. The point is on the board. I'm the coach and I didn't see the signal but I noticed that 3 was put up. Am i going to the table to correct the lack of signal? Or, am i to assume that no error has been made? If I am the opposing coach, will i just wait for 2 dead balls and go over to point out that there was no signal made, therefore making this a 2?

All the other correctable errors have nada to do with signaling. Just want to make sure.
The error is not recognizing the score and awarding it. Signalling is part of that. The error in the case play is not looking clearly and not thus not acknowledging that the shot was from behind the arc. He just wasn't paying attention. If the ref knows it's a 3 and doesn't signal, what's going on? If he'd looked and seen, and still not awarded the 3, he'd have a lot more problems than whether it was an error under rule 2-10!
Reply With Quote