Thread: Dead Ball Foul
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 05, 2005, 08:33pm
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Please help with the ruling on the following two situations.

1. Team A has the ball 4th and 10. A1 runs for a nine yard gain and then steps out of bounds where he is hit. A flag is thrown for a personal foul. This is a dead ball foul. Should Team B get the ball and then have the penalty assessed. It seems that since the foul occured AFTER the down, that Team B should get the ball.

2. Team A has the ball 4th and 10. A1 runs for a five yard gain and is tackled. The R signals first down for B. B3 is then flagged for a dead ball foul. Does A get a first down now?

These two situations seem technically alike, but the rulings probably will be different. I am confused.
Reply With Quote