View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 05, 2005, 05:57pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by thesnackman
At a high school football game last night, the visiting team dropped back to field a punt on fourth down. After signaling for a fair catch, another player from the receiving team came up and made the catch ( the player that called for the fair catch didn't catch it); then he started advancing the ball. After the play was dead, the officials called a 15 yard penalty on the play but didn't specify what the exact call was. Was this the correct call?

Josh
Josh, we have no way of knowing if the call was correct or not, since you don't know what they called. What was the signal? Where was the foul walked off from? You haven't given us enough info. All I can tell you is that the ball was dead as soon as R caught it.

Quote:
Originally posted by shave-tail
Check rule 6-5-6. Kick catch interference. The call was correct as described. If there is not a R in the area then the kicking team can catch the ball in flight and the ball is dead after the catch.
You need to re-read the post. K didn't catch the ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote