Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
If the ball hit the ground before A1 touches it again, it is a legal dribble. As stated in the other post, it is just not one that is usually seen.
|
My question is how is that a legal dribble? It wasnt a dribble at all. It was a pass right? Tossing the ball over a defensive players head, then retrieving it for a layup would constitue a pass to oneself right?
|
It is all a matter of how you look at it. When or if you take the test, you will be in serious trouble if you don't take the question for what it is worth. If the question deals with traveling and a dribble don't complicate it by adding in that you think it is a pass. As someone stated a few days ago, you must have an understanding of rule 4. This will spell out what a legal dribble is or an airborne shooter!
|
Thanks for the advice. But in the example, it doesnt use the word dribble or pass. So then its a judgment call. I dont think you toss the ball over a players head to execute a dribble. If that were the case lets suppose A1 is being hounded all night by B1...B1 is much quicker and has been stealing the ball form A1 on a regular basis. So A1 could, stading at the top of the key, toss the ball to the corner and retrieve it after it bounces once, just to keep from having to dribble? Doesnt make since.