View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 03, 2005, 01:01pm
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling

I found this interesting article by Rick Roder, but it still doesn't address a BR who has neither struck out nor reached first when he enters the dugout.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Roder has also had this to say, in the original Jaksa/Roder Manual:

By rule, a batter-runner cannot be out for abandoning before touching (or passing) first base. However, a batter-runner who aborts an advance toward first base before touching (or passing) such base and reaches his bench, dugout, dugout steps, or defensive position is out because of his desertion. Desertion typically occurs when a third strike is not caught and the defense neglects tagging the B-R or first base. Although improbable, desertion can also occur an award (e.g., after ball four after the B-R goes directly to his dugout in favor of a pinch-runner) or a batted ball.
Thanks for doing the research, Dave.

I knew if I claimed I was too lazy to look it up (i.e. lack of time) that somebody would chime in. I suspected there was an official interpretation or authoritative opinion out there on this issue.

Like I said, it seems logical that such a runner would be out.

As "improbable" as Roder thought it might be in any other case other than an uncaught 3rd strike, the original example in this thread has a pretty good instance how it *could* (and did!) happen under other circumstances ... and for innocent reasons.

To answer the the original question, it all comes down to WHEN the umpire calls a BR for this "desertion". (I like that word because, when discussing a unique play like this, you have to use something other than "abandonment".)

Is he out the very instant he steps into the dugout?

Or, when the play is over (after force outs have been registered), and the umpire discovers that the BR has deserted, he then calls the BR, thereby not requiring the defense to take any action to register the out?

Although Roder's opinion specifically addresses the issue as to whether a deserting BR should be called out, it doesn't directly address the timing, which is critical in answering the original post.

Can the desertion on the part of the BR cause subsequent "force" outs to evaporate?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN


Reply With Quote