Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
I have a question I just thought of... On a ten second count in the backcourt does the ball have to be possessed by someone on the same team in the front court before ten seconds?
I say yes but don't have my rule books here to confirm it.
|
You wouldn't be able to confirm it even if you had your rule books available. 
The answer is no. The 10-second count terminates as soon as the ball hits the floor or any player, including opponents, in the frontcourt too. That includes hitting an official in the front court also.
Casebook play 9.8SitB.
|
If the ball is still in flight? Example: Count is at 9.5/10 I throw the ball from my backcourt to the front court (one of those high arching Joe Montana passes LOL!) and as the official gets to ten he has a 10 second violation. Is he correct?
|
What does that have to do with your original question above- outlined in red?
You said "does the ball have to be possessed by someone on the same team in the front court before ten seconds". You said "yes". I said "ABSOLUTELY NOT". The ball only has to obtain front-court location to end the 10-second count. The ball does NOT have to be "possessed by someone on the same team" to gain front court location. The ball can gain front court location without ever touching the team in possession. That's exactly what the cited case book play is telling you.
|
Yeah, I know. I didn't get my thoughts together before I posted. If the ball has front court status i.e. floor, team A, team B, official... then the ten second count stops. What I should have asked was if the ball is still in
flight does the ten second count stop. Thank you for the clarification though!
[Edited by ThickSkin on Nov 3rd, 2005 at 08:23 AM]