Thread: Traveling
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 10:04am
Nate1224hoops Nate1224hoops is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 259
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Originally posted by tomatty

Long time official, first post.

I have had numerous disagreements with officials and coaches regarding the traveling rule on a shot attempt. Player A shoots an airball, runs and gets his rebound before the ball hits anything, including the floor. This has happened numerous times on lay-up attempts where player A shoots and misses everything, but is able to run and get his rebound. This is not traveling, correct? He even has the option to dribble again, if I'm not mistaken.

Just looking for some back-up on this rule. Thanks.
Correct (in all but the NBA, and maybe FIBA). Once a try is in flight, player control has ended.

Do you know the Citation for this rule? Just curious.
Reply With Quote