Thread: Traveling
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 09:32am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,416
Quote:
Originally posted by tomatty

Long time official, first post.

I have had numerous disagreements with officials and coaches regarding the traveling rule on a shot attempt. Player A shoots an airball, runs and gets his rebound before the ball hits anything, including the floor. This has happened numerous times on lay-up attempts where player A shoots and misses everything, but is able to run and get his rebound. This is not traveling, correct? He even has the option to dribble again, if I'm not mistaken.

Just looking for some back-up on this rule. Thanks.
Correct (in all but the NBA, and maybe FIBA). Once a try is in flight, player control has ended.

Reply With Quote