
Mon Oct 31, 2005, 03:57pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
|
|
Pauli,
I wrote this in a thread earlier this week, and I'm too lazy to type out a whole new response. So hopefully, this will help your understanding of the new rule:
Quote:
The reason you are confused here is that you stopped quoting the rule too soon. 4-36-2c says ". . .when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved." Yes, the ball is dead, but if there's an infraction (foul or traveling violation, for example), goal, or end of period, then we know who is going to get the ball next. And that's where we resume.
So, for example, B1 fouls A1 as A1 releases a try for goal. Official sounds the whistle for the personal foul. The try is unsuccessful. After the ball has become dead, A1 and B1 curse at each other. Official calls a double technical foul.
So now what? The ball is dead with neither team in control. What's the POI? Well, b/c there was an infraction (B1's personal foul), we know that A1 would have had control if the double T had not occured. Therefore, we resume by awarding A1 2 FTs with players lined up along the lane and continue the game as after any "normal" FTs.
Make sense?
|
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|