Substitute A12 that entered the field was INSIDE the numbers (9-yard mark) after the RFP (as required by the rules). He was not intentionally trying to hide out on the sidelines or anything of the nature. The only problem that I can see occuring is that there were 12 members of team A on the field at one time. Rule 2-30-15 stipulates that a substitute becomes a player when he enters the field and communicates with a teammate or an official(which he did not), enters the huddle(which he did not), or is positioned in a formation or participates in the play. By this rule, A12 would not have become a player until he was postioned in the formation after the huddle broke and other players came to the line. It is for this reason I decided not to call anything.
I agree something doesnt smell right about the play... but without adequate rule support and am of the opinon (at the moment) that I made the correct call.
__________________
Learn to officiate the dead ball situations perfectly, and the live ball plays will take care of themselves.
|