Thread: Out of bounds
View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2001, 01:44pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Re: what I meant was.....

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
However, Camron Rust once posted that he asked Howard Mayo, who at the time was on the NF rules committee, and that Howard said this was the same as touching the ball while it was still in the inbounders hand.
However, I contacted Dick Knox, Chairman of the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee and he said that it was not the same as touching the ball while still in the thrower's hand.

So, who knows?
Beware! Falling names zone! Hard hat required for
admittance!

NF rules & NCAA rules differ. Under NCAA no member of the
defending team can touch the ball until it crosses the
inside plane of the sideline or endline. NFHS the ball
can be touched once it's released. Under either rules it
is a T to touch a ball passed between teammates when
the inbounding team can run the endline.
Reply With Quote