Thread: Out of bounds
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2001, 12:33pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
what I meant was.....

Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett

Snip

For example - there still is no definitive rule or case that clears up, without any room for challenge, whether or not the restrictions on a defender reaching over the line on a throw-in end when the ball is released toward the court by the inbounder or whether the defender must wait until the ball crosses the line. We have been discussing this for years and the rules committee still has not clarified this, except for interpretations from recognized interpreters and a former member of the NF rules committee. However, there is no agreement even among them. This is a fairly simple case in which to clarify a rule.
Maybe this should be in a new thread but I can think of how the rule could be any plainer in its meaning.

7-6-3 The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

This is repeated in 9-2-11, which covers the penalty phase.

[/B]
What I meant was if the defender reaches across after the release toward the court and touches the ball before it is over the court. Since the ball is out of the inbounders hand, I always felt this was not a violation or foul. However, Camron Rust once posted that he asked Howard Mayo, who at the time was on the NF rules committee, and that Howard said this was the same as touching the ball while it was still in the inbounders hand.

A clarification on this would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote