View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 06:31pm
WhistlesAndStripes WhistlesAndStripes is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
1) Now, since the official also didn't know the rule, or just got flustered and stopped the clock...we have a situation where you can't just run off 5 seconds, and if you give the ball to the team behind, you have allowed the team to benefit from it's tactic.
Therefore, IMO, the T is issued at this point.

2) JR...why does Case 9.2.11 mention B1 reaching "through the boundary plane" and knocking the ball out of A1's hands...and then states that Team B "has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane violation."?

This isn't a warning situation...it's an automatic T Rule 10-3-11 PENALTY...so why mention the warning that has not been given?


[/B]
1) Certainly gotta agree with that logic. You can't let the scoring team benefit in any way from their delaying tactic.

2) I think that the case book play is just reinforcing the idea that a warning is not needed in this particular case- is all. In this particular situation, you issue an official warning along with the T. [/B][/QUOTE]

I don't even think you bother issuing the "official warning" with the T. In my mind, at this point, the T IS the official warning.
Reply With Quote