View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 09:40am
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
BayStateRef

Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
See Case Book 9.1.9 Situation A (c).

Arms may extend outside the marked lane space. Feet may not.
I agree with Nevada that there appears to be no explicit prohibition in the rules regarding players reaching out (but not touching someone).

But I don't think 9.1.9 Situation A (c) grants permission to reach out. It says "extends arms over the area between the lane spaces", then describes the 'neutral zone' and the 2" wide lines that mark the rest of the spaces. Perhaps this very narrow issue is what's addressed. Ought that which is not explicitly permitted be presumed denied? Perhaps.

Consider the case where B1's arm is extended and dribbler A1 doesn't run into it. Nothing happened. Analogously, if B2 in the low block position extends an arm in front of the player in the next marked lane space, A2, and A2 doesn't contact it . . . nothing happened . . . yet . . . but often there is arm contact, followed by more arm contact, followed by more arm contact. You might say 'lay off', before you do end up with a double personal foul . . .

__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote