View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 16, 2005, 05:43pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you bother to read NFHS case book play 9.10.1SitD?

Just wondering.

You might change your mind if you were to do so.
I don't think 9.10.1D (and the NCAA equivalent) applies. That case is specifically for holding a ball "in an area enclosed by screening teammates" -- 9-10-1b. I don't think an area can be "enclosed" by one teammate / player.

I seem to recall that this was included in one of the FED slide shows a few years ago. I've forgotten the answer, though.

Iirc, something got issued somewhere along the line that the concept was the same whether it was one teammate, 2 teammates or several teammates. If the defender was passive, the count was terminated. If the defender was still trying to get at the ball despite the screening teammate(s), the count was to be maintained. I don't that there's that much difference between one teammate or two teammates.

The rules language does refer to "teammates" in the plural though.
Reply With Quote