Quote:
Originally posted by don't move
Had this happen Friday night, I can't find a rule on point, but if feels like we may have missed it. Fair catch signaled for by R1. K2 blocked R2 about 5 yards from R1. R2, as a result of the block, stumbled into R1 just as R1 attempted to catch the punt. R1 muffs, and K recovers. We gave it to K.
I could not find a case on point in the case book or the rule book to support a KCI call.
Thoughts please.
|
NF 6-5-6 (emphasis mine): "While ... any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line, K shall not touch the ball
or R, unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker, nor obstruct R's path to the ball. This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, ..."
If, as you describe, K2 initiates the contact with R2, you have KCI, even without the FC signal. Awarded fair catch at the spot of the foul, or 15 yards from the previous spot and replay the down.