Ok, first of all, when I made my comment I did not take into account the shouting of "go" into the equation. That little tidbit would change my perception of the intent quite a bit. I agreee that if the intent is to simulate the snap then I would have a foul. I was just saying that going from a two point stance to three was not, in itself, a foul in my mind. However, now after looking back over the comments I have a question for BsktBallRef. Tony, right? On one hand you mad this comment on the play: "There's nothing illegal about this shift unless an official judges that the offense is attempting to get the defense to encroach." But then you seem to convince yourself and then attempt to convince others by quoting the "bball bible". I think we agree but maybe not. My position is and has always been that if " In all cases, if the movement simulates the start of a play, it is a false start." However, going from a 2 to 3 point stance is not illegal, in and of itself.
|