The way it has been explained to me (I don't officiate NCAA) under NCAA rules if A10 accidentally steps out of bounds he can't be the first player to touch the ball, ie. receive the pass. If this happens its a previous spot, loss of down, no yardage penalty. In otherwords treat it like an incomplete pass for enforcement, except that the ball doesn't become dead until the play ends. If any NCAA guys can elaborate it might help. I just hate the idea of flagging a player for illegal participation because he accidentally steps on the side line or end line. I know many officials "don't see" this occur but it can come back to bite us when he makes the reception because we were supposed to flag it when he re-entered.
|