
Thu Oct 13, 2005, 01:48pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 146
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie
What I'm trying to get at here is a discussion on how this rule is or should be interpreted.
It occured to me either late last night or this morning, that if the defender is not right at the line on snap (i.e. playing bump and run coverage), any contact that occurs is almost certain to have occured past the one yard mark. True or not?
|
I would agree with that.
Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie
Also, in thinking about this today and yesterday after the game, I'm of the feeling that the intent of the rule is to not penalize the bump and run cover guy who's on the line and doesn't necessarily know it is a pass -- i.e., he's playing for both pass or run and is not attempting to put the receiver at a disadvantage. Thus, the rule exception is not going to be utilized much at all. Agree or disagree?
|
I think I would treat this like the fake punt rule that allows for defensive contact when the punter throws a pass.
__________________
Steven S. Smith
|