View Single Post
  #454 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2005, 09:01am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Call it a guess, since that's what it was.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
He did not see the ball caught.
He therefore has no idea what happened.

Quote:
He judged the pitch was an uncaught third strike.
I won't argue semantics with you, Mick, but I don't see how you can make a judgment with no information.

Quote:
He signalled "live ball".

Nobody except the umpire crew knew that. In fact, now that I think about it, I don't even think the first base ump knew it. I will go watch the replay. But the only person that needed to know it had his back to the umpire.

Quote:
The catcher fell asleep.
The catcher did what he does after every caught third strike that ends an inning. That's not falling asleep.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote