View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2001, 10:22am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by JFM43
The other team lines up to punt. All of their line is set for one full second in a two point stance. Simultaneously, all seven linemen scream "GO" and shift rapidly into a three point stance. No strategical shift like from tight to wide or anything like that. It was a predisigned shift that had as its only purpose to simulate the snap and draw us offisides. My white cap told me that since they do it everytime it is OK. Am I just way off here??? I thought any shift by the offense that simulated the snap and drew the defense into the neutral zone was a foul on the offense???

The referee is incorrect. You are incorrect. This is legal, period.

Shifting into a 3-point stance is what linemen do at the start of a snap cadence. It does not simulate action at the snap and is not designed to cause the defense to encroach. How fast they go into the stance is irrelevant. Whether they do it the same way every time or different every time is irrelevant. If the defensive coaches review tapes of their opponents and conduct practices accordingly, this is a non-issue.
I'm afraid I have to disagree with you. The case book play below bears this point out.

2.37 SITUATION B
Is it a shift if before the snap: (a) Team A's guards and tackles go from a hands on knees position to a three-point stance; or (b) back A1 misses the snap count and takes a half step forward while going from an upright position to a four-point stance; or (c) quarterback A1 takes a step forward and puts his hands under the center; or (d) quarterback A1 is in an upright position as he looks over the defense, but he then bends his knees and puts his hands under center?

Ruling: Yes, in (a), (b), (c) and (d). Each of these movements constitutes a shift. In all cases, if the movement simulates the start of a play, it is a false start. Normal shoulder and head movements by the quarterback are not considered a shift.

Many teams will try this on 4th down with less than 5 yards to go and are specifically using the shift to draw the defense across the NZ. The Case Book states that acts that are "interpreted to cause an opponent to encroach are infractions. It is the intent of the rules to prohibit such acts."
I agree with BktBallRef on this one for the reasons he outline above. I'm going to flag this as a false-start everytime!
Reply With Quote