Again, I want to point out that the kick violation on a non spot throw-in is a specific exception that applies only to the non spot throw-in. We do not have the liberty of taking specific exception language of the rule book and applying it to "similar" circumstances.
The only time the kicking violation on a throw-in is mentioned with specific instructions of what to do on the next throw-in is when it is on the non-spot throw-in.
Consider a different violation, when A1 leaps from front court, catches the ball and lands in back court. The normal call is a backcourt violation whether the ball orginated in front court or back court. The rules have specific exceptions when the play is a jump ball, a throw-in, or A1 was a defensive player. We do not have the right to say because there are legal exceptions in a specific circumstance, they apply to all circumstances.
Maybe this is an oversight or loophole the rules committee has not considered, maybe they did. But until the specific play is addressed in the casebook or spelled out in the rule book, we must go by what is defined - that the AP throw-in ends when touched by an in bounds player. When that happens, the arrow is switched. The violation of kicking the ball is then penalize and the ensuing throw-in is just a normal spot throw-in.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
|