Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie
>>That change just a couple years ago on the jump certainly made mental life easier - easier than saying, hmm, you possessed it, then, by virtue of that, you violated.<<
I never understood the confusion on this. The violation was for "possession," it was for grasping or holding the ball when tossed (whatever the specific word is). It wasn't a "possession" because the ball becomes dead immediately.
|
The old ruling was that, upon catching the toss, A1 gained control of the ball, resulting in the arrow being set for Team B, and also violated the prohibition against catching the toss, giving the ball to Team B. Thus Team B got the arrow and the ball.
The change a couple years ago changed the mandated way to resolve this particular situation where more that one rule is arguably applicable so that Team B gets the ball, Team A gets the arrow.