Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
However, my job is to apply the rule as written so the wording to me is quite plain - touched legally or not the AP throw-in is ended.
|
It sure is amusing how the very same people (not necessarily refering to you, Dan) will use the "call it as its written" when it agrees their side of the debate but will call it how they "think it should be" when that is in line with their point of view.
There are many here who belive that a player should be called for a block simply by being contacted while OOB. However, that rule, as written says no such thing...only that such a player doesn't have LGP. Yet, they'll call it a block in spite of what is written in the rule.
The primary factor that is lacking in those sorts of arguments is one of the basics of officiation: knowing the PURPOSE and INTENT of a rule. A deeper understanding of the rule than what is in black and white.