View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 09:43pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Re: Re: It doesn't have to say legally touched

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow, this sure has been complicated for no reason.

6-3-4
The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

4-41-5
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.

Notice that 4-41-5 does not say "...when the passed ball LEGALLY touches..." The arrow is switched in cases when the kick occurs.

The running the endline situation is a completely separate issue that's addressed by a specific rule and case plays.

As BZ said, apples to oranges.
You can say the throw-in ended just like you can say it's spinach and the hell with it, but that is oversimplifying the situation. It's not clear that the throw-in event supercedes the violation of kicking the ball. There is no answer in the rules.
Unfortunately, there is an answer in the rules. The throw-in ends when the ball is touched. Period. I don't like it, either, but there's no getting around it.
What did the arrow initially give team A?

Possession of the ball.

Did B1's kick take that away from team A?

Nope.

How is a kick different than B1 knocking the ball OOB with his/her hand? Do you want to give A the ball back plus the next AP throw-in on that play too?

Perhaps we need the official to judge if the violation was caused by good defense or just a bad pass, before we switch the arrow?
Reply With Quote