View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 09:26pm
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
It doesn't have to say legally touched

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow, this sure has been complicated for no reason.

6-3-4
The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

4-41-5
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.

Notice that 4-41-5 does not say "...when the passed ball LEGALLY touches..." The arrow is switched in cases when the kick occurs.

The running the endline situation is a completely separate issue that's addressed by a specific rule and case plays.

As BZ said, apples to oranges.
You can say the throw-in ended just like you can say it's spinach and the hell with it, but that is oversimplifying the situation. It's not clear that the throw-in event supercedes the violation of kicking the ball. There is no answer in the rules.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote