View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 08:17pm
RedRef RedRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow, this sure has been complicated for no reason.

6-3-4
The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

4-41-5
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.

Notice that 4-41-5 does not say "...when the passed ball LEGALLY touches..." The arrow is switched in cases when the kick occurs.

The running the endline situation is a completely separate issue that's addressed by a specific rule and case plays.

As BZ said, apples to oranges.
I agree with your logic based on the rules referenced. I still think the defense is rewarded for the kicking violation, but that's just my opinion.

I asked the original question and I asked for an NFHS ruling, but I'll offer NCAA rule 4-65-5..."A throw-in shall end when the passed ball is controlled by an in-bounds player."

Because the NCAA rule specifically calls for control before the throw-in ends, would you agree the arrow would not be switched under NCAA rules? There would be no control if the first touching was a kicking violation.

Reply With Quote