View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 04:12pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Team A only loses the arrow if the throwin ends or if team A violates. The NFHS has established that a kick that is simultaneous with the ending of the throwin is considered to have occured before the throwin ends.
Camron -- where is this established? I'd like to think you're right, but I also would like to see it in print.
Me too.
*7.5.7 SITUATION B: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the made basket, then proceeds out of bounds to start the throw-in process. B1 runs along the end line out of bounds while attempting to find an open teammate for the throw-in. Immediately after B1 releases the throw-in pass, the ball is kicked by A2 (a) near the end line; or (b) near the division line. Ruling: A2 has violated by kicking the ball. In (a), Team B will be awarded a throw-in and retain the right to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. In (b), Team B will put the ball in play at a designated spot nearest the violation.

The ONLY way this case can be reconciled with the ending of the throwin is to consider kick to occur first. If the end of the throwin were to apply, the penalty for a kick would be a spot throwin. This is exactly the question at hand. When a throwin ends with a violation, the violation, according to 7.5.7 happens before the throwin ends.
Apples and oranges.

There was a provision put in to keep A from losing the advantage of running the end line on a violation by B. By doing this the type of throw-in remains the same after the violation.

On an AP throw-in it is a spot throw-in. The violation does not take the possession away from A, which is what the arrow gave them, the arrow served it's purpose and by rule the AP throw-in ended on the kick. The throw-in remains a spot throw-in, A remains in possession, and team B is not gaining a possession through a violation.
Reply With Quote