View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 12:56pm
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by RedRef
Yup- NFHS rule 4-42-5 as already cited. [/B][/QUOTE]


Gotcha...

Let me ask this... A1 has ball for AP throw-in. A1 throws ball in and B1 immediately kicks. A1 has ball for throw-in from kick violation. Arrow goes to B. A2 fouls B2 before throw-in complete. Throw-in to B from foul on A2.

Did A ever benefit from the AP throw-in? They lost the arrow because of a kicking violation, which seems to reward the defense. Add on the foul where Team A deserves to lose the ball and now Team B has the ball and the next arrow. [/B][/QUOTE]

That was my thinking as well. Since the rule specifically states that a violation by the throwing team on an AP throw in results in the loss of the arrow, I deduced that a violation by the defensive team during an AP throw-in would NOT result in the loss of the arrow. This makes sense to me.

Otherwise I would think the rule would state that any violation during an AP throw-in would result in the loss of the arrow. That makes no sense to me.
Reply With Quote