Thread: Play question?
View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2005, 03:34pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: mcrowder...both Federation and NCAA rules concur that when the ball is kicked (or otherwise loose) it is in possession of the team that last had player possession. Therefore, in this play, K was definitely in possession when the whistle was blown. And they would next be putting the ball in play. That's the real reason that PSK doesn't apply. Does R get shafted by an IW in this situation? You bet, but that's just an indication of how ugly an IW can really be.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote