Thread: Play question?
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2005, 02:10pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT

The foul did occur before the end of the kick.

I think PSK is not met cuz K is still in team possession when the IW. This is not the same as K downing the ball, the ball was never possessed by either team, and when the IW occurs it is not the same as if no team was in possession of a ball that is at rest, therefore I think our only option is to rekick.
Right R did not possess it. But what if the penalty is accepted? under NFHS rules the penalty over rules the IW.
But, this is different than any case play in 4-2-3. There is no PSK spot to enforce it from cuz there is not EOK, so the only option is to rekick. The IW caused there to be no EOK, so you must rekick. No way are you going to give K the option to have R's BIB enforced from the PS.

4-3-2-A says "the down shall be replayed the IW occurs during a legal kick." I know what 4-2-3 says about if a penalty is accepted, but you have no enforcement spot.

I think you MUST rekick. I don't see us asking K if they want to accept R's foul, we will administer it from the PS, which is the only option. This is what PSK was put in for. If K is giving up the ball by a scrimmage kick, they should not get it back so easily. The IW screwed R of the PSK, so rekick is the only option.

tpaul, you have my thoughts, what are yours?
Reply With Quote