Thread: Play question?
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2005, 01:46pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by ChickenOfNC
Hey, I'm a new official. I like responding with my first instinct, just to see how far off base I am on these situations.

Preciate the feedback.

I assume the play was killed when the IW occurred. Wouldn't that spot (the 16) be the end of the kick? Seems that all the requirements of PSK are met here, right?

"If an inadvertant whistle occurs during a down in which a foul occurs prior to the inadvertant whistle, and the penalty is accepted, the IW is ignored"
4-2-3c

That's where my thinking came from.

[Edited by ChickenOfNC on Oct 5th, 2005 at 02:04 PM]
In the NFL, they do not have IW rules like NF, so they go with the spot of the ball and it is dead, but in NF this would have to be rekicked.

I don't think PSK was met cuz K was still in team possession at the end of the down, the time of the IW.

Reply With Quote