| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			If, in the umpire's judgement, the ball was over foul territory when touched by the catcher (regardless of the position of the catcher himself), it is a foul ball. The fact that it touched the rubber before the catch makes it in effect a ground ball. Dead ball, runners return. 
However, if it's coming down directly over the plate, it should be called fair. 
 
[Edited by Joe Kupka on Oct 12th, 2001 at 12:24 PM]
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				HollandBlue
			 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |