Thread: FT question...
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 09:29am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: the restrictions...

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnBark
i read that the restrictions on players is until the ball hits the ring, backboard or until the FT end is 9-10. so, the ball could hit the backboard first,which would allow players to enter the lane and then hit the ring and still be a legal free throw action.
The rule citation is actually 9-1-10, but yes, you're correct. The players may enter the lane once the ball hits the backboard.

Quote:
however 9-3 is the rule reference for the FT "He/she shall throw within 10 seconds to cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the free throw ends."
Again, the rule is 9-1-3, but again, you're correct.

The players may enter the lane once the ball hits the backboard. But the FT shooter still must hit the rim or else he/she has violated.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote