Thread: In MA. . .
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2005, 06:39pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
A couple weeks ago, we discussed this play. . .

A1 scores. While B1 is holding the ball OOB for the throw-in, B2 sets a screen very close to the endline. B3 runs OOB on the endline and goes around B2's screen, coming back inbounds on the other side of B2.

Is this a violation based on this year's rule change? We discussed it here: http://officialforum.com/thread/22209

I said yes. But at the MA interpreter's meeting this afternoon, I was outvoted. A couple people agreed with me, but the majority sided with JR. The thought was basically that since B3 is allowed to be OOB, we can't assume that he's doing anything illegal.

So what about a defender who goes OOB to go around a screen? It's an immediate violation and reset of the shot clock. Among ourselves, we sort of agreed that a good official wouldn't notice the defender being OOB if the offense was about to score or was going to have an open shot. In other words, a good official will not call the violation if it doesn't interfere with the offense's play.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote