View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2005, 09:46pm
ref18 ref18 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

If the guard was stationary and positioned in the Close Line Play Area (2 yards ahead and behind the line, from tackle to tackle)at the time of the snap, and the block occured in this zone then it is legal.

If the player wasn't set in the CLPA or the block occured outside the CLPA then it's an illegal block. I've seen some nasty injuries from low blocks and would not hesitate to call it seeing how the intent of the rule is the safety of the players.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote