View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:48pm
Posts: n/a
Originally posted by eventnyc
This situation caused quite a bit of discussion at our association's meeting. Here's the sitch:

Tight end lines up on the line and is covered. The team sets for one second with all interior lineman (except the tight end) in a three point stance. The TE has his hands on his knees. The TE, without simulating the start of a play goes in motion and resets in the slot. No other player is in motion. The team is again reset for a second and the ball is snapped. Legal play?
I say you have a false start. Once the TE is covered he goes under the rules of a lineaman and cannot shift.

If he is covered by a WR and that wr shifts back off the line (un-covering the TE) the the TE could go in motion of shift.
Reply With Quote