View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:29pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Originally posted by eventnyc
This situation caused quite a bit of discussion at our association's meeting. Here's the sitch:

Tight end lines up on the line and is covered. The team sets for one second with all interior lineman (except the tight end) in a three point stance. The TE has his hands on his knees. The TE, without simulating the start of a play goes in motion and resets in the slot. No other player is in motion. The team is again reset for a second and the ball is snapped. Legal play?
What you describe is not motion. It's a shift. Motion is one player is legally moving at the snap.
" cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote