
Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:40am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?
I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?
|
If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.
|
Sigh.
Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?
By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.
NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.
|
How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. If technical, it involves dead-ball contact or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
|
See the words outlined in red in your rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be dead ball contact.
You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.
|
I know what that rules states, I can read, what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant. Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
|