View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2005, 04:58pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Sorry- shoulda said R4-36-2(b)-- "Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such".

In my defense, I'm still in shock that a basketball official-- any basketball official-- didn't know what a brownpop was.
And a very valid defense it is.

So, back to the original question: does the team lose the baseline priviledge? If it does, then why? Isn't the team still "entitled to such"?
As R7-5-7 plainly sez that a team only retains the run-the-baseline privilege after a common foul occurs on the throw-in, then I'd haveta say it would now be a spot throw-in on the end line after any non-common foul(s)--which includes double fouls. Case book play 7.5.7SitD uses an intentional or flagrant foul committed near the end line to say the same thing---> spot throw-in even though the throw-in is returned to the end line.
Reply With Quote