Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
When a player fouls out and free throws are awarded, the player must leave before the first free throw correct? Assuming they player is shooting 2.
Just had to make sure
|
As others have already said, yes, the player should leave before any FTs are attempted.
However, if you screw it up, at least remember to follow this:
2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bs coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bs head coach shall be notified of B2s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officials error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)