Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
No offense, guys, but you're not helping me. I want a "bottom-line" rule to go by. My buddy told me last weekend that whatever the clock says when you look up, you can re-set it to, b/c that's definite knowledge. That's a great bottom-line rule if it's true. Is it true?
If not, what's the rule? When you look up and see the clock still running, you:
1) Put up the time that you initially saw.
2) Put up the time that you initially saw minus one second (allowing for the timer's reaction).
3) Put up the time that you initially saw plus one second, assuming (by interpretation) that one second passed before you looked up.
4) None of the above.
The fact that there are only 5 replies to this question tells me that I'm not the only one who is unclear on this point.
|
If the clock runs for a second or less after you saw the time, you don't touch the time. Iow, you don't add anything on. If the clock read 5 seconds when you looked at it, and it then stops with between 4 and 5 seconds showing on it, everything is fine.That's allowed lag time.
If more than 1 second runs off the clock though, you re-set the clock back to the exact time showing on the clock when you glanced at it. Thats "definite knowledge".
Case book play 5.10.1SitD lays it out.
|
This isn't completely correct. Why?
There is a subtlety involved which depends upon exactly when the official looks at the clock.
There are two cases:
1. The official blows the whistle, signals,
AND THEN LOOKS at the clock. This is covered by 5.10.1SitB. Whatever the official sees on the clock is where it should be stopped, since "One second or the "reaction" time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock." (One can argue that it takes less time for the official to look, but the NFHS says it takes one second.) So, if the clock ticks, even 1/10th of a second more here, by rule that is a timing error, and the official can have it put back. If a reset is needed, the clock is put back to the time the official saw when looked at the clock.
2. If the official blows the whistle and signals
WHILE LOOKING at the clock, then ONE MORE second may legally come off from this time. This is the timer's one second of lag or reaction time. So in this case, the official can observe up to one full second of time run off and is NOT allowed by rule to put that time back. However, if he observes MORE THAN one full second tick away, a reset is needed, and the game clock is put back to whatever time the official INITIALLY observed. There is no subtraction of one second. This is covered in case 5.10.1 SitD.
Therefore, Chuck, I'd have to say that your buddy's general rule is not valid because of point #2 above. Therein the official looked up, obtained definite knowledge of the clock, saw some more time run off, but if it was 1 second or less, he is NOT ALLOWED TO RESET IT in an NFHS game.
As further evidence of this type #2 situation, I offer a play ruling from last season's interpretations of which I'm sure that you are aware. It is still posted on the NFHS website:
2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 8: As the official calls a traveling violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock. While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the fourth quarter. The clock shows 55 seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock: (a) at 55 seconds; (b) at 54 seconds; (c) at 53 seconds; or (d) 50 seconds. RULING: In (a) and (b), there has been no obvious timing mistake. The timer should be able to react and stop the clock in one second when the whistle is heard and/or the signal is seen. However, in (c) and (d), more than one second of time elapsed from the time the signal was given until the clock was stopped. The referee will order 55 seconds put on the clock in (c) and (d). COMMENT: By interpretation, lag or reaction time is limited to one second when the officials signal is heard and/or seen clearly.
The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a lag in stopping the clock. Additional time which may subsequently run off the clock (after the one second lag time) is considered a timing mistake and may be corrected. (5-10-1)
Your buddy's rule could be made workable though for the official who ALWAYS looks at the clock AFTER blowing the whistle and giving the proper signal. This would eliminate the case #2 situations, since the official would never be looking at the clock AS he is blowing the whistle.
In other words, his rule is valid for type #1 referees.
So you just need to figure out if you are a type #1 or a type #2 ref!