Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
Starting the Clock errors
On an inbounds play after a made bucket by team B and a time out by team A, Team A is ready to inbound the ball after the time out along the end line. There is 0:02.1 seconds left in the period. A1 (oob) passes the ball to A2 who is oob also. The clock operator erroneously starts the clock when A2 receives the pass oob. A2 then passes the ball to A3 who is in bounds down the length of the court. The ref notices the clock started and whistles the play dead. Ruling: 2.1 seconds is put back on the clock and team A will the redo non-spot throw-in from the endline after the ref gives a lecture to the clock operator.
Same play except the horn blows signaling the end of the period instead of a referee whistle. Ruling: Same corrective action takes place.
|
It seems to me this was a topic of much discussion a while back, especially the part about when the horn blows. Even though it sounds correct to put the time back on and go back to the endline, I seem to remember a convincing argument on putting the time back, but putting the ball in play where the error was discovered. In other words, if the horn goes off when A3 receives the pass at half-court, put 2.1 seconds on, and give the ball to A at half-court for the spot throw-in. Maybe there were a couple of other extenuating circumstances that allowed this to happen. Anyone remember why? Granted, I think I fall under the category of going back to the endline and starting over, because I think I can convince more people about "doing the right thing". But if there's clear rules backing on putting the ball at half-court, then the only way I'm going to convince anyone else is when I'm convinced myself.
But, I do agree in every case, to have that heart-to-heart talk with the timer.