View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2005, 07:25am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
My last rules-related thread generated a lot of discussion, so I'm going to try again. Somebody explain "lag time" to me in bottom-line language, please. Here's the case book explanation from 5.10.1B:

Quote:
COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a "lag" in stopping the clock. By interpretation, "lag or reaction" time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the "reaction" time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock. The additional three seconds which subsequently ran off the clock [in case 5.10.1B] is considered a timing mistake.
So what exactly are we allowed to correct and how does "glancing at the clock" fit in to this formula? Is only the "additional" three seconds correctable or is the whole 4 seconds that ran off correctable?

Does this whole mess boil down to "put back whatever you actually saw on the clock", as a fellow official told me? What's the real bottom line here?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote