Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
This is a discussion that started on another website. I'm looking for some input here. I already know JR's opinion, so hold off for a while, JR.
B1 scores. While A1 is holding the ball OOB for the endline throw-in, A2 sets a screen near the endline. A3 runs OOB along the endline to go around the screen and re-enters the court inbounds. Is this a violation under new rule 9-3-2? Or is it legal b/c it's an endline throw-in and any teammate of the thrower can be OOB?
|
I only read the first couple posts to this thread and then quit because I did not want to give myself a headache. This play is a no brainer. No one on Team A has done anything illegal. Team A is allowed to have all five players on the out-of-bounds side of the endline. They can do anything they want on that side of the endline as long as they effect a legal throw-in. Do not confuse the new rule change with something that was legal last year and is still legal this year. Chuck's play is legal under NFHS, NCAA, FIBA, and NBA/WNBA rules. Actually, I am pretty sure the play would be legal under NBA/WNBA rules; if I am wrong I am sure somebody will correct me and I will accept the correction with heart felt thanks.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|