Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
The fact that a player is allowed to be OOB in certain circumstances doesn't give him license to do whatever he wants while he's OOB.
|
Rules citation?
|
I don't think I really need a rules citation for that, do I? If A2 is legally OOB along the endline and is about to receive the ball from A1 who is also OOB, are you going to withhold the whistle when he excessively swings his elbows at B1 to make space to receive the ball?
|
No, if A1 needs to create space to recieve the ball I'll probably have a whistle on B1 for being OOB on the throw-in, which he is not allowed to do unconditionally by rule.
Even if B1 is not OOB, this rule states unconditionally that a player may not swing an elbow. IOW there are (or should be) no other considerations, we merely have to observe the swing of an elbow.
The rule we are discussing only penalizes players being OOB for an unauthorized purpose. IOW we must first ask ourselves "is he otherwise permitted to be OOB?".
In your play A3 is authorized to be OOB because he is permitted to do so by rule.
Now, if the rewritten rule did supercede the throw-in rule then no team mate would be allowed OOB with the player thowing the ball in. The rule as presented does say we are to whistle the violation immeditely. Which means as soon as you see it which means as soon as A3 steps OOB he's violated. Regardless of the throw-in rules.