View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2005, 01:47am
BulldogMcC BulldogMcC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 136
Fed rules:

For argument's sake I will make some assumptions since your post did not have the down/distance with the spot of the foul in it. You opponent is 4th & 2 from their own 22 yard line. The foul was for block in the back and was behind the 34 yard line so lets just use the 30 for the example. In that case, by rule, the live ball foul should have been enforced from the spot of the foul since it is behind the basic spot which was the goal line and after you accept the penalty, they should have been left with 4th and 4 from their own 20. 10 yard penalty from the 30. Rule 5-1-2b After a fourth down, a new series of downs shall be awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down. (This means a live ball foul) The block in the back is a live ball play, so we take its yardage into account when we determine if a new series shall be awarded, so it is the spot of the ball after enforcment that must be beyond the line to gain, in your case the 24, for the awarding of a first down (5-1-3a) When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play or out out of bounds between the goal lines, a new series is awarded to A, if the ball belongs to A on or beyond the line to gain.. The fact that the runner was already past the 24 prior to the penalty occuring has no bearing on whether a new series is awarded (aka gained a first down), only the position of the ball after enforcement of the penalty. If the spot after enforcement was behind your opponent's 24, the official calling it punted the ruling.

[Edit: But a 'midfield' block in the back, sounds more like a penalty between the 40's not back behind the 34.]

[Edited by BulldogMcC on Sep 19th, 2005 at 02:49 AM]
__________________
See the ball, insure its dead
Then the whistle, not ahead
Reply With Quote