View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2005, 09:48am
l3will l3will is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by grantsrc
In B, can he raise up out of the three point stance? I thought in Fed ball once you're in a three point stance on the line of scrimmage, you cannot move, even if you are an end. Not like in NFL where you see TE doing it all the time.
Depends if he is really on the line or not, and that is only true for interior lineman. Since the question said he
was in a gap, then if on the line then you are correct he
cannot move. TEs in federation ball can rise up and move,
as long as they don't simulate action at the snap and then
reset legally ( a shift ).
ref. 7.1.7c.

If he was in "no man's land", not a back and not on the line, then he can go in motion but must comply with rule 7.2.7.

The part about his helmet breaking the plane of the tackle's
waistline puts him in the not a back catagory. If his helmet also breaks the plane of the snapper's waistline then he is a lineman.



Reply With Quote